Dammed

by Gary Sackett

water touches my hand
cupped to my face
I sip, I drink, I swallow

spirit nears
the love, the need
in my thirst
my strive for perfection

parched, dry, drought
speaking words of dust
kicking sand, sinking
surrounded by cracked earth
veins opened by lack
clouds are darkest around me
storms clatter my brain
drop by drop, it rains, it pours
facing the fear, the lack
has dammed my soul

my choice, I choose
to shed, ripping, clawing
no.

my choice, I choose
to expose myself, graciously, lovingly
naked to embrace the fear
emotions swell

drop by drop, puddling
pools around me
ponds, lakes, streams, oceans
open.

water touches my hand, scooped
to my face, I sip, I drink, I swallow
I now feel the energy
the love, the need
I choose to live, I choose to say
I LOVE YOU
I THANK YOU

