Burying Brett

by Gary Sackett

On Tuesday I will bury my brother next to my Mom and Dad. So, I’m reflecting, grabbing bits and pieces of memories. You hear from others, from movies plots, that at times you can’t remember faces and places of the the person that was once here in the flesh. Stories are shared and memories come back— some don’t.

Your senses take over, from sights to sounds, places and songs, smells and terminology. Little things that pop in your head to think of that person.

I am of the belief that when those thoughts come into your head, the little pauses that happen to bring back a memory of this person, it’s a contact from them. A little tug, push, nudge, tickle, smile from them letting you know that they are alright… and you will be too. If you want to call them your angels, your guides or whatever, call them that. It is your relationship envelop yourself with the knowing they have moved to a place to where, at some time you will go.

In and out of solemn times is what you experience, grief stages. From happy to sad in an instant, smiles to tears in seconds. Some chose to hold it in, others put this time on their sleeves. There is NO right or wrong with this. It just IS.

When people talk to you remember this is bringing up “their” personal stuff. It’s their memories of people they lost or their experience of not losing anyone to this date. Humans, interesting creatures, able to twist anything to their ego benefit. And at this time it strikes a lot of fear into them, of their own demise. If you fear death, then every ounce of your being will fight against the natural flow.

I have been fortunate to have been with many who have passed on, many at so-called unfortunate endings. At that moment of the last human breath. At a certain time, I may have not said it was fortunate, now I know that it was my absolute privilege to be with one who is transitioning to another place. I was not with my brother physically when he passed, but I knew something was going on and he was making the decision to move out of his physical form.

It is time for you to feel, use this time to connect with those who die because there is only one thing on the other side. True untainted love.

All the other stuff your ego is putting out there in front of you is utter garbage, human bullshit that you have cluttered your life with. Take this time, this connection, this moment that happens all over this planet to feel the spark, the instant that one transitions on. Their realization that all there is…is pure love.

With all the strife going on in the world, that has happened over and over again, maybe, just maybe, we can feel this emotion on a daily basis, if we choose.

Burying my brother
flesh and bones
existing no more
laying him next to
Dad and Mother
flashes of memories
polaroid pictures
of good times and bad
take me to places
we once danced
laughter and tears
situations conquered
pain and grief
made in my mind
no more

